Libertarian's Forum
Libertarian Forum to discuss politics and free market economics.
Libertarian's ForumLibertarian's ForumFreedom Forum › Drunk Driving in a Libertarian World - Yea or Nay?
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 8 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Drunk Driving in a Libertarian World - Yea or Nay? (Read 2453 times)
The Opposition
Libertarian Freedom Member

Libertarian's Forum

Drunk Driving in a Libertarian World - Yea or Nay?
Aug 24th, 2014 at 4:04pm
Print Post  
I've seen and known my share of drunk drivers. Some of them make a point I can't call entirely worthless: "I'm a better driver drunk than a lot of people are sober."

Those sober bad drivers get to be on the road, so why not the drunk bad ones? The only case to say no would be the case of unnecessary risk. (And this bit is just my opinion; I would like to know what the libertarian one is.) Since society has determined that the risk of being on the road is necessary, so that people can get to their jobs for one, the risk can be taken, but only in the least risky manner possible. If the sober bad driver doing his very best causes an accident, then that is unfortunate (and of course he ought to pay damages) but it was necessary that he have the right to drive a car. It was not necessary, on the other hand, for the drunk bad driver to consume alcohol before he decided to drive his car. Same level of ability, same risk... one is simply unnecessary.

What I'm considering for the libertarian case is if gambling with another man's money - even if you don't happen to lose - is a good analogy. Because, when getting on the road drunk, a person takes a deliberate and unnecessary risk with the lives and property of others. You could also claim that in getting on the road, the people being risked by the drunk driving of others must know and accept that there might be drunk (or bad) drivers on the road, so they are responsible for that risk themselves.