Libertarian's Forum
Libertarian Forum to discuss politics and free market economics.
Libertarian's ForumLibertarian's ForumFreedom Forum › Universal Suffrage a Hinderance to Libertarianism?
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Universal Suffrage a Hinderance to Libertarianism? (Read 1566 times)
Don_G
Ex Member

Re: Universal Suffrage a Hinderance to Libertarianism?
Reply #20 - Jan 8th, 2018 at 12:13pm
Print Post  
Snarky Sack wrote on Jan 7th, 2018 at 3:59pm:
I can understand why you would single that out if it hits home with you. 

Don't forget that I work in education with people who are either behaviorally challenged or intellectually impaired or struggling to learn English.  I work hard for their well-being and fight for their dignity when I need to.  That doesn't mean I want them picking the president or helping decide bond elections.  They have no basis to do so.

I hear yoiu but I don't agree. Those people you want disqualified aren't going to choose the president in any case because they're a small minority. This speaks to the principles of democracy.

You could just as easily make the argument for requiring an IQ of say, 125 to qualify to pick the president. And in fact that argument has already been hinted at on this forum.

At the moment, the majority of the people who chose Trump would most likely fall on the left side of the bell curve for IQ's of the population. Granted there would be some who are situated on the right side, but I would suggest fewer than those  that didn't vote for Trump.

That is my perception and it likely could be proven by polling the people along with a quick test of intelligence.

IP Logged

Jeff
Libertarian Freedom Member

Libertarian's Forum

Reply #21 - Jan 8th, 2018 at 2:29pm
Print Post  
SkyChief wrote on Jan 8th, 2018 at 11:51am:
There is no "weeding out" of voters. With the VPQ I proposed...
You aren't in charge of designing the test or selecting the questions.