Libertarian's Forum
Libertarian Forum to discuss politics and free market economics.
Libertarian's ForumLibertarian's ForumFreedom Forum › The Replication Crises
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 84 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) The Replication Crises (Read 7648 times)
The Opposition
Libertarian Freedom Member

Libertarian's Forum

Re: The Replication Crises
Reply #10 - Apr 2nd, 2018 at 10:47pm
Print Post  
Quote:
Your criticism of science, scientists, Darwinism, and AGW are of little interest to we who haven't gone over to the far side burnsred.

I have a master's in biological sciences and am only a dissertation short of having the Doctor title in front of my name.

The replicability crisis is real.

Peer review doesn't work.

People have made up a bunch of nonsense intentionally and got it the peer review gold star just to prove that.

https://www.theblaze.com/news/2017/05/21/fake-academic-paper-published-in-libera...

https://www.sciencealert.com/a-neuroscientist-just-tricked-4-journals-into-accep...

This moral relativism of yours is exactly what lets government take this freedom, then that freedom, until we have lost them all.
-SnarkySack

IP Logged

Jeff

Libertarian's Forum

Reply #11 - Apr 3rd, 2018 at 9:10am
Print Post  
Snarky Sack wrote on Apr 2nd, 2018 at 9:07pm:
Yes, but many scientists and researchers are not doing that.  Especially in the social sciences.  The "Replication Crises" isn't my phrase.  It is a problem of concern to those who believe science should be scientific.
There is a problem with the "social sciences" not actually being scientific, but that's not what I was talking about.

Here's an example of the problem I see-

https://principia-scientific.org/pages-2k-hockey-stick-graph-validation-exposed-...

IP Logged

Jeff

Libertarian's Forum

Reply #12 - Apr 3rd, 2018 at 9:18am
Print Post  
The Opposition wrote on Apr 2nd, 2018 at 10:47pm: