Libertarian's Forum
Libertarian Forum to discuss politics and free market economics.
Libertarian's ForumLibertarian's ForumFreedom Forum › Individual investment Primer
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3] 4  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Individual investment Primer (Read 422 times)
kaz
Libertarian Freedom Member

Minarchist

Re: Individual investment Primer
Reply #20 - Jan 13th, 2020 at 4:54pm
Print Post  
Jeff wrote on Jan 13th, 2020 at 10:32am:
I consider that the money I spend to have my IRA professionally managed is well worth it. Smiley

Your IRA is not professionally managed.  It's managed by a trained monkey.  A salesman.  I know you don't grasp that, you never do.

My portfolio is managed by a professional.  Me.  I'm an expert in capital markets.  I wouldn't let your trained money touch my portfolio with a ten foot pole

You might be paying lower fees (or you might not), but there is a cost to you in time spent to manage your own portfolio

True, but most of the time I spent I was getting paid for since it was my job.  The rest was when I got my MBA.  My time to manage several portfolios is an hour here and there to check up on things and a Saturday a year to re-balance.  Almost always, re-balance just means for new money coming in.  I have spreadsheets already set up that tell me the allocations.  So I just need to update the prices and review my charts.

Since I already have plenty of money, and I'm old, my time is more valuable to me than the management fees I pay. Besides, experience has shown that I'm only average at choosing investments.

If you actually do have any money at all, you should totally let your trained monkey do it.  You're a complete moron.  The monkey is a lot smarter than you are.  A box of crayons is smarter than you.  My recommendation was for the Chief who is not an idiot like you are.